Skip to content

A New Post, A New Country, A New Life

May 26, 2010

It’s incredibly hard to pick blogging back up after finally coming back to the states. There’s so much more to distract here… life is so much faster than it was in Kenya. I want to keep up with it, but as I don’t have my illustrious travel insights to rely on for post-fodder, I’m going to have to shift the direction of this blog a bit. As you know, this blog is entitled “Confusion’s Confessions” — which really describes what my observations are on the more intriguing, confusing, and interesting points that I encounter in daily life. As I move to a new city and a new job, this will continue. I’m almost positive that Washington, DC will provide me with plenty of things to remark on, even if they aren’t as tasty as ugali. Besides, the shift in topics comes naturally with this blog – life is supposed to change, grow, and progress on to new things, and so as I embark on a new journey, so will my writing.

The process of reverse culture shock was in some ways better than I expected, and in some ways, worse. Beds and showers were even better than I expected; going out to party less than a week after being back was a painful and very hard experience. I think about Kenya everyday, but I’m losing the sharpness of the memories that I have quicker than I want to. It’s hard to describe, but I feel somewhat like I’ve been watching a really great movie called “Life in Kenya” for a while… and now the movie is over and reality is back. I’m not sure how to reconcile the two. The closest I’ve come was my Welcome Back From Kenya Party… where I got to make Kenyan food, go through my pictures, and tell my stories. I don’t want to lose all that I gained from this experience, but I can’t stay stuck in the past… so here comes the future.

After spending 3 amazing months in Kenya, I have about 3 weeks at home to recuperate, visit friends, go to weddings, throw parties, unpack… and repack! I start my new job as Marketing Communications Assistant for the Institute for Humane Studies in Washington, DC on June 7th. I know – what am I doing in marketing?! I have no formal marketing training…and my degree is in economics, math and government. Thankfully, economics is the best major in the world, and trained me to do whatever would make me money. So! I have about a week and a half left before getting to work with some of the most awesome people I’ve ever had phone interviews with from Kenya! You know it’s got to be a good job when you have 5 new facebook friends a day after accepting the offer (even before you’ve met them!)

I am very excited to be moving back to the District, although I’ll technically be living and working in NOVA (Northern Virginia).  I even managed to find a cool roommate and an apartment… all within 18 hours of starting the search! First “real” job, first “real” apartment… I feel like I’m growing up years in about 3 weeks. Not only that, but this summer holds the weddings of three of my best friends and I’m throwing/hosting a bachelorette party tonight for my high school friend Jessica. It’s amazing how living with a 6, 9, and 16 year old for three months made me feel like a kid again… now it’s a giant thrust back into “adult” life.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Libby permalink
    June 1, 2010 12:58 am

    “I know – what am I doing in marketing?! I have no formal marketing training…and my degree is in economics, math and government. Thankfully, economics is the best major in the world, and trained me to do whatever would make me money.”

    Hahaha, I was just commenting with another econ friend back home about how we’re ALL going to end up in “marketing” in the next few years.

    Looking forward to your return!

Leave a Reply

